Our Parishes

The parishes in our Society's area are listed below, together with links to information about the parishes.

Clicking on a parish name will search the Online Members Interests' Database (OMID) for members researching in that parish.
Clicking on the reference number in the OSNG column will lead to Geograph, and photographs taken in the parish.
The numbers in the OS map number column refer to sheet numbers in the 'Ordnance Survey Maps One-inch 2nd edition, Scotland, 1898-1904 with parishes shown in colour'. The index to this series of maps, which is on the National Library of Scotland website, has links to the individual numbered sheets.

Parish - (Links to OMID Surname List and Map Location) County Photographs OS Map Number
Airth Stirling NS8987 39;31
Alva Stirling NS8897 39
Ardchattan Argyll NM9734 45;53
Ardrossan Ayrshire NS2242 22
Arrochar Dunbarton NN2904 38
Auchinleck Ayrshire NS5521 14;15
Avondale Lanarkshire NS7044 23;22
Ayr Ayrshire NS3321 14
Baldernock Stirling NS5775 30
Balfron Stirling NS5489 38;39
Ballachulish and Corran of Ardgour Argyll NN0361 53;54
Ballantrae Ayrshire NX0882 7
Barony Lanarkshire NS5765 30;31
Barr Ayrshire NX2794 8
Beith Ayrshire NS3453 22
Biggar Lanarkshire NT0437 24
Blantyre Lanarkshire NS6756 23;31
Bonhill Dunbarton NS3979 30
Bothkennar Stirling NS9083 31
Bothwell Lanarkshire NS7058 31;23
Bowmore Argyll NR3159 27
Buchanan Stirling NS4390 38
Cadder Lanarkshire NS6172 31;30
Cambuslang Lanarkshire NS6459 31;23
Cambusnethan Lanarkshire NS7955 23;31
Campbeltown Argyll NR7120 12
Campsie Stirling NS6277 31;30
Cardross Dunbarton NS3477 30
Carluke Lanarkshire NS8450 23
Carmichael Lanarkshire NS9238 23
Carmunnock Lanarkshire NS5957 30;31
Carnwath Lanarkshire NS9746 23;24;31
Carstairs Lanarkshire NS9545 23
Cathcart Renfrew NS5860 30
Colmonell Ayrshire NX1486 7;8
Covington and Thankerton Lanarkshire NS9738 23
Coylton Ayrshire NS4219 14
Craigie Ayrshire NS4430 22;14
Craignish Argyll NM8004 36;37
Crawford and Leadhills Lanarkshire NS9520 15;16
Crawfordjohn Lanarkshire NS9323 15
Culter Lanarkshire NT0234 24;16
Cumbernauld Dunbarton NS7574 31
Cumbraes Bute NS1655 21
Cumlodden Registration District Argyll NR9796 0
Dailly Ayrshire NS2701 14;8
Dalmellington Ayrshire NS4806 14
Dalry Ayrshire NS2948 22;30
Dalrymple Ayrshire NS3514 14
Dalserf Lanarkshire NS7950 23
Dalzeil Lanarkshire NS7457 23;31
Denny Stirling NS8082 31
Dolphinton Lanarkshire NT1046 24
Douglas Lanarkshire NS8330 15;23
Dreghorn Ayrshire NS3538 22
Drymen Stirling NS4788 38;30
Dumbarton Dunbarton NS3975 30
Dundonald Ayrshire NS3634 22
Dunipace Stirling NS8083 31
Dunlop Ayrshire NS4049 22
Dunoon and Kilmun Argyll NS1776 29;37
Dunsyre Lanarkshire NT0748 24
Eaglesham Renfrew NS5751 22
East Kilbride Lanarkshire NS6554 23;22
Eastwood Renfrew NS5560 30;22
Erskine Renfrew NS4472 30
Falkirk Stirling NS8880 31
Fenwick Ayrshire NS4643 22
Fintry Stirling NS6286 31;30;39
Galston Ayrshire NS5036 22;23
Gargunnock Stirling NS7094 39
Gigha and Cara Argyll NR6448 20
Girvan Ayrshire NX1898 7;8
Glasgow City Lanarkshire NS6065 30
Glassary Argyll NR8593 37;36
Glassford Lanarkshire NS7247 23
Glenorchy and Inishail Argyll NN1627 45;46;54
Gorbals (Glasgow) Lanarkshire NS5863 30
Govan Lanarkshire NS5565 30
Greenock Renfrew NS2776 30
Hamilton Lanarkshire NS7255 23
Houston and Killellan Renfrew NS4066 30
Inchinnan Renfrew NS4769 30
Innerkip Renfrew NS2072 30;29
Inveraray and Glenaray Argyll NN0908 37;45
Inverchaolin Argyll NS0975 29;37
Iona Argyll NM2824 43
Irvine Ayrshire NS3138 22
Jura and Colonsay Argyll NR5267 28;36;35
Kilbarchan Renfrew NS4063 30
Kilberry and Kilcalmonell Argyll NR7461 20;28
Kilbirnie Ayrshire NS3153 22;30
Kilbrandon and Kilchattan Argyll NM7417 36;44
Kilbride (Arran) Bute NS0427 21;13
Kilchoman (Islay) Argyll NR2163 27
Kilchrenan and Dalavich Argyll NN0322 37;45
Kildalton (Islay) Argyll NR3645 19;20
Kilfinan Argyll NR9378 29
Kilfinichen and Kilvickeon Argyll NM4928 43;44
Killean and Kilchenzie Argyll NR6841 20;12
Killearn Stirling NS5286 30;38
Kilmacolm Renfrew NS3569 30
Kilmalie Argyll NN0977 57
Kilmarnock Ayrshire NS4337 22
Kilmaronock Dunbarton NS4587 30;38
Kilmartin Argyll NR8398 36;37
Kilmaurs Ayrshire NS4141 22
Kilmelford and Kilninver Argyll NM8413 36;44;45;37
Kilmeny (Islay) Argyll NR3865 19
Kilmodan Argyll NR9984 29;37
Kilmore and Kilbride Argyll NM8530 45;44
Kilmory, Shisken ( Arran) Bute NR9621 21;13
Kilninian (Mull) and Kilmore Argyll NM3945 51;43
Kilsyth Stirling NS7278 31
Kilwinning Ayrshire NS3043 22
Kingarth Bute NS1059 21;29
Kinlochspelvie (Mull) Argyll NM7236 44
Kippen Stirling NS6594 38;39
Kirkintilloch Dunbarton NS6573 31
Kirkmichael Ayrshire NS3408 14
Kirkoswald Ayrshire NS2309 14
Lanark Lanarkshire NS8843 23
Larbert Stirling NS8582 31
Largs Ayrshire NS2059 21;22;29;30
Lesmahagow Lanarkshire NS8139 23
Libberton Lanarkshire NS9941 24;23
Lismore, Appin and Duror Argyll NM8643 44
Lochgilphead Registration District Argyll NR8688 0
Lochgoilhead and Kilmorich Argyll NN1810 37;38;45;46
Lochranza (Arran) Bute NR9350 21
Lochwinnoch Renfrew NS3559 30;22
Loudoun Ayrshire NS5637 22
Luss Dunbarton NS3692 38;30
Mauchline Ayrshire NS4927 14;22
Maybole Ayrshire NS2909 14
Mearns Renfrew NS5455 22
Monkton and Prestwick Ayrshire NS3526 14
Morvern Argyll NM6745 52;44
Muckairn Argyll NN0030 45
Muiravonside Stirling NS9675 31
Muirkirk Ayrshire NS6926 15;23
Neilston Renfrew NS4857 22;30
New Cumnock Ayrshire NS6113 14;15
New Monkland Lanarkshire NS7665 31
New or East Kilpatrick Dunbarton NS5472 30
North Bute Bute NS0667 29;21
North Knapdale Argyll NR7487 28;36
Oa (Islay) Argyll NR3143 19
Ochiltree Ayrshire NS4921 14
Old Cumnock Ayrshire NS5620 14;15
Old Monkland Lanarkshire NS7163 31
Old or West Kilpatrick Dunbarton NS4673 30
Paisley Renfrew NS4864 30
Paisley Abbey Renfrew NS4863 30;22
Pettinain Lanarkshire NS9542 23
Polmont Stirling NS9379 31
Port Glasgow Renfrew NS3274 30
Portnahaven (Islay) Argyll NR1652 19
Renfrew Renfrew NS5067 30
Riccarton Ayrshire NS4236 22
Roseneath Dunbarton NS2583 30;29;37
Rothesay Bute NS0864 29
Row Dunbarton NS2982 30;28;37
Rutherglen Lanarkshire NS6161 30;31
Saddell and Skipness Argyll NR7938 20;21
Salen (Mull) Argyll NM5440 43;44
Shotts Lanarkshire NS8759 31;23
Slamannan Stirling NS8573 31
Sorn Ayrshire NS5526 14;22
South Knapdale Argyll NR7877 28;29
Southend Argyll NR6908 12
St. Ninians Stirling NS7991 39;31
St. Quivox and Newton-upon-Ayr Ayrshire NS3423 14
Stair Ayrshire NS4423 14
Stevenston Ayrshire NS2642 22
Stewarton Ayrshire NS4246 22
Stirling Stirling NS7993 39
Stonehouse Lanarkshire NS7546 23
Straiton Ayrshire NS3804 14;8
Stralachlan and Strachur Argyll NS0295 37;29
Strathblane Stirling NS5679 30
Sunart or Strontian, Acharacle, Kintra and Ardnamurchan Argyll NM6768 52;51
Symington Ayrshire NS3831 22;14
Symington Lanarkshire NS9935 23;24
Tarbert Registration District Argyll NR8668 0
Tarbolton Ayrshire NS4327 14;22
Tobermory (Mull) Argyll NM5055 51;52
Torosay (Mull) Argyll NM7236 44
Tyree and Coll Argyll NM2257 42;51
Walston Lanarkshire NT0545 24
Wandell and Lamington Lanarkshire NS9730 15;23;16
West Kilbride Ayrshire NS2048 21;22
Wiston and Roberton Lanarkshire NS9428 23;15